Week 38 – Vanishing Point

unnamed

 

For the 38th week of the competition, here is my photo, taken on the way to the canal in Basingfield, Nottingham.

 

I have now broken up for Christmas which gives me lots of spare time to visit new places and take more photos. For this image, me and my Dad went out around midday on Saturday and took the dog for a walk. Whilst walking down a road to the canal I got the tripod out and took two photos, one of the path correctly exposed and one of the sky.When I got home, I uploaded the two photos onto word, then print screened the two images together, then pasted them onto paint and blended the two together (similar to Week 34). Compositionally, I used the road as a lead in line, taking you across the picture and up to the sky.

 

After joing the two photos together, I used the tone curve adjustment to darken the shrubbery and trees and bring out the brightness of the path which was naturally illuminated by the sun. This drew attention to the path and made the vague line where I had stitched the two photos together less obvious. I then decreased the reds a lot and the greens slightly to expose the blues, adding a moody and atmospheric element to the image. After that, I added a motion blur to the sky to add interest.  If I were able to change one thing with this image, I would flip it as your eye reads from left to right.

 

I was influenced greatly by the work of Latryx a landscape photographer who I have as a contact on flickr. He frequently uses leading lines to drag the viewers attention into the frame. I also looked at a tutorial on Eric Kims blog about lead-in-lines- http://erickimphotography.com/blog/2013/10/16/street-photography-composition-lesson-4-leading-lines/

 

Barney

 

Leave a comment