Week 39 – Smudged Landscape

IMG_9260 3

 

I hope that everybody had a good Christmas and I wish everyone a Happy New Year. For Christmas this year I saved up for a Laptop with Photoshop Cs3 on it, so I have spent a lot of time playing around with the different options. I already have in mind a few techniques I would like to try out.

As I am now 3/4 of the way through Project 52 here is my photograph. It was taken whilst on a car journey to some family friends. I noticed that because it was cold outside and hot inside of the car, condensation had formed on the windows leaving a good texture to use. I adjusted the shutter speed to 1/2500 to prevent blur as we were driving quite fast and I also set the shooting mode to continuous to guarantee getting the shot I wanted. I then simply waited for the background I was after and held down the shutter.

I chose this particular image as I liked the complexity of the tree and the blue-ish tones from the blue sky. I also like the way it has a paint like quality to it . The only problems I have with it are that the left hand side of the photograph lacks something and I would have liked the tree to be slightly sharper.

I would use one of my favourite photographers, Saul Leiter, as my inspiration, however I was also influenced byTodd Hido’s landscapes where some are taken through car windows. This is a very intriguing technique as it reveals details of weather features which are not usually visible to the viewer.

Barney

Leave a comment