Week 40 – Car Top Reflection

Week 40

 

As week 40 is slowly coming to an end, here is my photograph of the cooling towers in Ratcliffe-on-Soar.

Before my Dad and I went out to take photographs, I looked on Google Earth to gather an understanding of the best angles to take photos of the cooling towers from . After a while, I found a spot where the setting sun would be behind the cooling towers, however, when we got there the sun was too bright and the view was slightly obstructed by some trees. In a desperate attempt to get a clear view of the towers lit by the setting sun, we drove closer and parked by the railway station right next to it. I wanted to get a unique image of the power station, so I placed my camera on the top of my car and managed to get the reflection just as the sun was setting. I composed the photograph with the reflection dividing the photo in half to give it a symmetrical look. Also, I  tried photographing it with my Dad walking across, but it lost the dramatic feeling I was after. Once the image was on the computer, I increased the contrast, sharpness and brightness and I added a few filters to get the colour I was after.

Overall, I am really pleased with the image and I would say it is one of my favourite photos I have ever taken. Originally, I wanted the light to be a bit stronger, however looking at it now, I prefer the fact that it is slightly diffused and softer.

Although my image is not in black and white, I was influenced greatly by Michael Kenna’s stunning Power Stations series where he photographed power stations around England, including the one in Ratcliffe-on-Soar.

Barney

Leave a comment